Kali Pai, Adam

 

I don’t know
What’s pleasing to the eye
In the delusion of my sight
Is not what I find when I reach into the light
I have lost my mind
I’m walking through time
Deluded as the next guy
Pretending and hoping to find
That distant peace of mind
I don’t know
Who does know
There is no 
Where to go
It’s not so simple as I try to wish
But then again what is?
There is no other worthy quest
So on I go
I don’t know
Who does know
There is no 
Where to go
~*~

Today, Adam Yauch aka MCA of the Beastie Boys died. He was only 47 and at this stage it is not confirmed whether he died as a result of his cancer, which he was diagnosed with in 2009 (video).

Adam with his little girl Tenzin (Source)

Now, a lot of people don’t even know who he is and to many the news that a ‚celebrity‘ has died is unimportant but I have been a massive fan of the band since I was in my teens. I have managed to see them live back in 1998 (god, I feel old) and it was one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to. I couldn’t walk for a week. 😉 Their music is still as awesome as it was when I first heard it 15 years ago.

But aside from that, Adam has been a major contributor and fighter for the rights of Tibetans. Without him, I’d have never learned about their pain and suffering under Chinese rule. Click here to learn more

Without Adam there are no Beastie Boys and that is hard to acknowledge. They released their first EP Polly Wog Stew in the year I was born and have just released their latest offering Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 in 2011. That is 30 years in the business and they were not even close to losing their ‚cool‘.

My heart goes out to his family and friends. He will be so, so missed.

Adam Yauch 5 August 1964 – 4 May 2012 (Source)

Edit 5 May 2012:

Last night, Coldplay played a Tribute.

Kommentar verfassen

